My Mixed Reaction To Fox News

December 31, 2009 at 6:32 pm 2 comments

Serious

There are no shortage of people who will swear by Fox News, as well as no shortage of those who loathe it with simmering contempt (If you have only been exposed to one of these types of people, then guess what… you’re probably close-minded.) My own take on the Fox network and it’s collection of news, and newsish commentary shows, is a mixed bag.

On the one hand the news media is hopelessly liberally bent. Fox plays an important role by providing a mainstream news source that isn’t starry-eyed for that BS known as Keynesian economics. They provide a good counterbalance to the other stations, as CBS, MSNBC and ABC are all pretty much variations on the same.

On the other hand they are completely hypocritical on any issues related to religion. It’s okay if they want to be pro-faith (I’m not a believer, but that’s their prerogative.) The ways in which they use never ending non sequiturs and ad hominems in ‘defense’ of faith are quite a bit much more my taste though.

What I will say though is that I am immediately repulsed by anyone who says that FOX News is a joke and not a real news station. These people have been brainwashed to fear differing opinions. Their belief that freedom of speech and common decency should extend to all (except their political advisories) is a sure warning sign of a militant autocrat. Living in the North East myself, there’s sadly no shortage of these obliviously close minded left-wingers.


Very true (though neither am I, I’m an Objectivist)


Hate. Pure unadulterated hate, masquerading as comedy.

Entry filed under: Evil.

What’s Wrong With The Skeptical Movement I Commented At The Huff-Po… And This Is What I Learned.

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. Dan  |  January 22, 2010 at 8:33 pm

    I haven’t been brainwashed to fear differing opinions. I do believe in free speech for all. And I think that Fox News is vile, unutterable filth of the worst sort. Wildly irresponsible, completely hypocritical, unproductively ad-hominem in most of their arguments, and with totally inadequate coverage of world affairs to boot.

    I don’t think that it should be shut down, nor that those who like it should be prevented from seeing it. Indeed, despite Fox anchors’ regular calls for the abrogation of others’ free speech, I think they should absolutely be allowed to carry on as the unwittingly hilarious banner of right-wing populism.

    But I think that if bin Laden were Christian, he’d probably watch Fox.

    Reply
  • 2. andrewclunn  |  January 22, 2010 at 8:36 pm

    Dang, and I always thought that if bin Laden were Christian he’d have flown a plane into an abortion clinic by now.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read This BEFORE Writing Me Hate Mail

This Thing Tells Time And Stuff

December 2009
M T W T F S S
« Nov   Jan »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031  

I Wrote These Somewhat Recently

Find My Older Posts Here


