Obama’s Health Reform Plan

September 10, 2009 at 2:45 am 2 comments

Serious

Here’s the full video of his speech (From MSNBC no less)
Obama Health Reform Speech

The Good
“The reforms I’m proposing would not apply to those who are here illegally.” – GOOD!

Medical tort and law suit reform – Finally!

The Bad
“Individuals Will be Required to carry basic Health Insurance.” – Thanks for that ‘choice’ thing.

“Businesses will be required to offer health care to their employees or chip in… 95% of businesses will be exempt.” – So basically rich people and big companies need to carry everyone else… but it’s a public ‘option.’

“No federal dollars will be used to fund abortions.” – Paying to help the poor have fewer kids? That’s one of the few things I would happily pay for.

“$900 billion dollars over ten years.” – Ouch. I’ll believe those savings and that deficit neutrality when I see the details.

“I will not talk with people who have calculated that it’s better politics to kill this plan than to oppose it.” – Which translates to, “You’re either with me or you’re against me.”

He defends Medicare and Social Security even while he admits that, “Medicare is the federal deficit.”

The Uncertain
“How we’re going to pay for this plan… Here’s what you need to know. I won’t sign this bill if it adds one dime to the deficit now or in the future.” – He then goes on to talk about cutting costs. Okay, so what cuts?

There already was a not-for profit (Blue Cross / Blue Shield.) Why do we need a government run one?! How would the government plan be different, other than getting around government imposed legislation meant to cripple the insurance industry?

The Conclusion
Sounds like some bones being thrown to conservatives for a plan that will depend on taxing the rich. Can it work? In the short term, maybe, but so would our current system. Is it wealth redistribution? Yes. Is it realistic? This is the real kicker. He’s pushing a lot for the no deficit (but I didn’t hear no new taxes.) He also talks about savings, but doesn’t mention what is going to be cut, and $900 billion is a big chunk of change. Man, if only he hadn’t stupidly given away American taxpayer dollars to the banking industry, he’d already be able to pay for his plan. Oh wait, never mind, that splurge was paid for using deficit spending.

And today I think I’ll let John Galt end my post

Entry filed under: Evil.

Obama Answers Real Questions About Health Care Banned From The xkcd Forums

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. nitePhyyre  |  September 15, 2009 at 8:06 am

    “I will not talk with people who have calculated that it’s better politics to kill this plan than to oppose it.” – Which translates to, “You’re either with me or you’re against me.”

    Is that really how you read it? Perhaps you should learn to read better. Or if not, at least a little less biased. You will notice how in Obama’s quote, there are 2 groups of people. Neither of them are a ‘with me’ option. Therefore it is literally impossible for it translate to: “You’re either with me or you’re against me.”

    If he had put it more bluntly “If you think America should stay ranked 37th in the world in health care, then I’m not talking to you. I want America to be number 1” That is a way of simplifying what he said WITHOUT drastically changing the content.

    Reply
  • 2. andrewclunn  |  September 15, 2009 at 6:25 pm

    Ah, someone who disagrees with me. Always glad to see some dissent around here. Oh, and that world health care ranking is complete crap in case you wanted to know (http://www.stamfordadvocate.com/ci_13247035 <- my source). But your comment about my misinterpretation of Obama's words is well taken. I think it's always important to guard against letting yourself be swayed by knee-jerk reactions. I am curious as to your reactions to every other point I made in this post though.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Read This BEFORE Writing Me Hate Mail

This Thing Tells Time And Stuff

September 2009
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

I Wrote These Somewhat Recently

Find My Older Posts Here


